Advice from me

via Daily Prompt: Ten

Anyone who knows me, knows I love writing a list! Especially at work. It helps me not to forget but also being able to tick off what I have done gives me a sense of accomplishment. I colour coordinate my asterisks, actions and ticks with my 4 colour BIC pen. They are very popular in my office although l’m sure I drive people insane with my constant clicking (digressing slightly…sorry). Anyway after a frustrating day my automatic thought was to write a list of 10 things that I hate currently. I think I’ve done enough moaning recently so I am going to attempt to list 10 positives I’ve learnt this last year.

  1. Having a good set of friends around you means absolutely everything! The types that just listen to you whinge, big you up to make you feel better (and truly mean it) and make you laugh for absolutely no reason at all when you feel like crying. Luckily I’m surrounded by them. Never EVER take that for granted.
  2. Don’t be afraid to let go of someone you love! Sure breakups are hard, for a while you will fight it but it is not worth it, your life is not over. Its just beginning!
  3. The person you thought you loved was secretly the twat you thought they were deep down. Never make excuses for them and generally trust your gut.
  4. There are some people who will give you the best advice and always do something to cheer you up when you are feeling rubbish. These are the people that generally need a shoulder to cry on and an outlet to vent more. Look  out for it, they need you too.
  5. Little tiny gestures show more than you know (giving and receiving). When you either demonstrate one of these or receive one, you realise how much your relationship is worth with that person. They really care and show that they do, either by their action or response to yours.
  6. Being single is amazing! I never thought I’d say this but I absolutely love it. When your EX moves on so quickly you think your left behind. Living on my own was awful at first. Now I relish MY time. Choosing to do what I want, when I want. With the absolute delightful bunch of people I get to call my friends. I have never had a busier January or February!
  7. Learn to be on your own and depend on yourself! Having always been in a relationship it’s not something I felt feasible or possible, I thought you always needed a man(or partner). What absolute SHITE! Strong independent women is where it is at. Kick ass girls!
  8. Believe in yourself and your dreams! Amazing things happened I only dreamed of. Only you can make it possible. In this last year I bought a house on my own. I got a promotion because I knew I could. I started a blog I thought no one would read and had so many positive comments from both strangers and people I know. (THANK YOU!!!!)  I got through horrible times!
  9. Have fun! I know it sounds obvious but seriously! How much fun do you have? Sometimes I apologise for going out too much or being busy and having fun. Why? Who to? Myself! Comical really. Never say no to a night out or social gathering. If there is not one arranged, ARRANGE IT! Make memories to hold on to when you are old.
  10. BE HONEST! To everyone and yourself. Don’t put up with anything. Don’t be afraid to share your opinion and more importantly don’t be afraid of what you think and what you want!

 

Leave a Reply

