Jolted

17 birthday ideas for the

I run through the darkness as it consumes,
my mind, is thoughts, the questions unspoken.
I hit the floor hard, tripping over nothing,
myself, my doubt. I can’t be woken.

Awkwardly lying in a frozen heap,
clouded with confusion, an anxious haze.
I try to break free and remove the weight.
Yet the silent pain traps me in this maze.

The failures wrap around my throat so tight.
I struggle back but this can’t be halted.
I flop in resignation, too tired now.
I see the light, shining, I wake jolted.

via Daily Prompt: Jolt

Leave a Reply

